The Fridge

ImageSo after many miles and a couple of months looking for pretty much anything but a VW camper in random and sometimes very distant destinations, I ended up buying a VW camper from a bloke about 10 minutes from my home.

I thought the trips to see vans were potentially buying trips but I was really still in my research phase, learning about what I wanted from a van and dealing with the emotions around handing over my home to others (albeit lovely others).

The reality is that the van I was looking for doesn’t exist, it’s a van I may or may not convert myself one day. I saw some lovely home conversions on the way though and got lots of ideas. The thing about a home conversion is the love, you can feel it oozing out of the conti board. The downside is that the ones I really liked had high mileage, no service history and the perennial question hanging over their high tops – how much rust is too much rust?

So I sheepishly returned to the Vdub fold, confessed my shortsightedness at overlooking the classic of form and function that is the late 80s T25 model and I visited George at Camden Campers (forever to be known as Honest George by my Dad and I). There I met The Fridge. I know I’m being mean about her looks but I’m still forming a relationship with her. I’m usually pretty puppy doggish about such things and rush in panting ‘love me’ but I’m being a bit more reserved. After all this could be the longest relationship of my life to date.

The train trips gave me some time to think about what this malarkey was all about. I’ll get back to you on that one, but the time and space to think was good. You take on board so much of other people’s excitement when you plan something like this that it’s good to have some time to mull.

I do love The Fridge but I am having to deal with the reality of no power steering (hard work in London) and my nervousness about owning an old vehicle. I spent years driving a morris minor and then a VW beetle and I went modern because just too many hours had been spent waiting for the nice RAC man on the side of the road. At least I can have a nap and a cup of tea while I’m waiting this time…

About Kate Fenhalls

This may or may not be my 41 year old gap year. Yesterday (2/4/12) may or may not have been my last ever day working in an office. Who knows, let's see what happens...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Fridge

  1. Charlie says:

    Inside pictures please!

  2. Mark says:

    Love this! Not so much the fridge (I know nothing about vans) but the way you capture the excitement at the start of an adventure. Look forward to following.

  3. Imogen says:

    She’s a beauty!

  4. Daisy says:

    So how did D-Day go? How is the Fridge? And more importantly how and where are you?
    We’re eagerly waiting for the next update, xxx Daisy

Leave a Reply

